Intrinsic Value Per Share IVPS

Mitsubishi Corporation logo: the three-diamond mark in red beside the company name

Sogo Shosha · Mitsubishi Corporation

More than half its profit comes from companies it does not consolidate

Mitsubishi is the largest of the five houses and the hardest to read. Its earnings have fallen three years running, it earns the lowest return on equity of the five, and its shares have multiplied several times over regardless. The gap between those facts is the whole page.

Return on equity of 8.5% against a 12% target is not one problem but a choice between two: earn ¥1.1 trillion on today's balance sheet, which the company has done once, or carry today's earnings on ¥2.7 trillion less equity.
Where this house sits among the five ¥66.3 tn between them · this house highlighted
¥19.5 tn market capitalisation 29% of the five 2.1× book 8.5% return on equity above 10% owned by Berkshire
  1. 1 58.5% of the latest year’s profit came from companies Mitsubishi does not consolidate. ¥468 B of equity-method income against ¥800 B of net income — the highest share in the ten-year record, which has run from 23.2% to 58.5%. An earnings multiple on this company is measuring something other than the earnings it controls.
  2. 2 Where the profit comes from is not where the capital sits. Environmental Energy earns 20.0% of the profit on 12.6% of the balance sheet. Others does the reverse: 6.4% of the profit on 12.2% of the assets.
  3. 3 Return on equity is 8.5% against a 12% target, and it decomposes exactly: 3.5% on assets times 2.4× leverage. Closing the gap means earning ¥1,129 B on today’s equity —just inside the ¥1,181 B peak of 2023 — or carrying today’s earnings on ¥2.7 tn less of it.
  4. 4 The house dates from 1870; the company dates from 1954. The zaibatsu was dissolved in 1947 and what listed in 1954 was a re-merger. Mitsubishi’s own corporate history begins there, the data vendors record 1950, and all three answers are defensible.

The house, and the company

Ask how old Mitsubishi Corporation is and there are three answers. The group dates its origin to 1870, when Yataro Iwasaki started a shipping firm with three aging steamships. The data vendors record the company as founded in 1950. And Mitsubishi’s own corporate history page does not begin until 1954, filing everything before it under a separate section titled “Our Roots”.

All three are right, and the distinction is worth holding onto, because it is the first thing that makes this company hard to read. Four Iwasakis ran the house for seventy-six years and built it from shipping into mining, banking, shipbuilding and trade. Then the zaibatsu was dissolved after the war and broken into what the group’s own site calls “the independent companies they are today”. What listed on the Tokyo and Osaka exchanges in 1954 was not a continuation of that house. It was a re-merger of its scattered trading pieces, and it is the entity you can buy.

The house, the break and the company · from company and group sources
Year What happened Source
1870 Yataro Iwasaki starts a shipping firm with three aging steamships. Mitsubishi group, "Origin"
1946 The fourth and last Iwasaki president, Koyata, leaves office. Four Iwasakis had run the house for seventy-six years. Mitsubishi group, "Origin"
1947 The zaibatsu is dissolved. The organisation is broken up into what the group’s own site calls “the independent companies they are today”. Mitsubishi group, "Origin"
1954 The Great Merger. New Mitsubishi Shoji is founded and listed on both the Tokyo and Osaka stock exchanges, under President Katsujiro Takagaki. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
1967 First management plan. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
1971 “Mitsubishi Corporation” adopted as the official English name. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
1992 A policy to become a “Sound, Global Enterprise” shifts the focus from transaction volume to consolidated profit and asset value. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
1998 MC2000 introduces a “Select & Focus” approach to the portfolio. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
2022 Midterm Corporate Strategy 2024 — “Creating MC Shared Value”. Mitsubishi Corporation, corporate history
2025 Corporate Strategy 2027, announced 3 April 2025. Corporate Strategy 2027 presentation

The continuity that did survive the break is a statement of purpose. The Three Corporate Principles were formulated in the zaibatsu era and are still printed at the front of the strategy deck: Shoki Hoko, corporate responsibility to society; Shoji Komei, integrity and fairness; and Ritsugyo Boeki, global understanding through business. The third is not a platitude. “Global understanding through business” is a mandate for the trading model itself — a company whose edge is supposed to be knowing more about more markets than anyone it deals with. Whether that edge is still worth what it costs is, in effect, the question the rest of this page is about.

The Three Corporate Principles, as written Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025
Mitsubishi’s corporate philosophy page, reproducing the original calligraphy of the Kōryō, the Three Corporate Principles, and giving each in English: Corporate Responsibility to Society (Shoki Hoko), enriching society while preserving the global environment; Integrity and Fairness (Shoji Komei), transparency and openness in the conduct of business; and Global Understanding Through Business (Ritsugyo Boeki), expanding business on an all-encompassing global perspective.
Reproduced as published. The calligraphy is the Kōryō itself, drafted in 1934 — thirteen years before the zaibatsu was dissolved. Source: Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025, page 12.

The scroll is worth looking at for one reason. The company that commissioned it was broken up in 1947 and the entity trading today is a re-merger of its pieces; the principles are the thing that crossed the gap intact, and they are still at the front of the strategy deck ninety years later. Whatever continuity Mitsubishi has between 1870 and 1954, this is the document form of it.

Mitsubishi runs on a 31 March fiscal year and calls the year ended 31 March 2026 “FY2025”. The data vendors call the same year “FY2026”. Every column on this page is therefore labelled by the date the period ended, and no fiscal-year name appears anywhere on it.

What it owns, and how it earns

The nine operating segments are a reasonable map of the business, and they are worth reading as what they are: nine portfolios of operating stakes, each with a trading desk attached. Mineral Resources holds steelmaking coal, copper, iron ore and lithium interests, mostly through joint ventures with the major miners. Environmental Energy runs the LNG business — Brunei, Malaysia, Australia, Oman, and the North American projects. Smart-Life Creation is the consumer end: retail, apparel, healthcare, food distribution and payments. Power Solution owns Eneco in the Netherlands and Diamond Generating in the Americas. Mobility is the Isuzu and Mitsubishi Motors value chain, concentrated in ASEAN. Food Industry runs from salmon farming and grain terminals to canned tuna.

Read that list again and notice what it is not. There is no segment whose earnings come from trading margin. The trading is how the company got the positions and how it still moves the volume, but the money is in owning the assets at either end of the trade. Which is why the next number is the most important one on this page.

More than half the profit arrives from outside the consolidation

¥468 B of the ¥800 B Mitsubishi earned in the year to March 31, 2026 was its share of the profit of affiliates it does not control — 58.5%, arriving as a single line in the income statement. The remaining ¥333 B is what the businesses it consolidates earned.

Net income, split by where it comes from ¥ billions · fiscal years ended 31 March 2017–2026
Equity-method income — affiliates not consolidated Everything else
The share has ranged from 23.2% to 58.5% and is at its highest in the latest year. The year to March 2021 is the one to read carefully: equity-method income of ¥97 B against net income of ¥173 B is a 56.3% share, but it is high because the consolidated businesses collapsed, not because the affiliates did well. Source: Capital IQ, equity-method income and net income attributable to owners of the parent.

Three consequences follow, and they shape everything below. An earnings multiple on this company is measuring something other than the earnings it controls, because more than half of them arrive from businesses whose dividend policy and capital allocation Mitsubishi influences but does not set. Consolidated revenue is close to meaningless, because whether a trade is presented gross or net changes the top line by multiples without changing a yen of profit — Materials Solution books ¥3.6 tn of revenue to produce ¥26 B of profit, and nothing follows from that ratio. And a segment’s gross profit can fall by half while its net income barely moves, because the profit never passed through the gross line. Mineral Resources did exactly that: gross profit fell from ¥398 B to ¥175 B over three years while net income went from ¥296 B to ¥205 B.

Which companies, and what they are carried at

If more than half the profit arrives from companies Mitsubishi does not consolidate, the obvious question is which ones. The answer is in the Annual Financial Report, and it comes with a caveat that turns out to be the most interesting part of it: Mitsubishi names nine equity-method holdings and publishes a carrying amount for three of them.

That English report exists because Mitsubishi’s securities trade on the London Stock Exchange, which obliges it. The primary document is the Japanese annual securities report, which is not published in English — one reason these companies stay unread outside Japan.

The two halves of the balance sheet

The equity-method book sits inside total assets, so the balance sheet divides cleanly in two: the stakes in companies Mitsubishi does not control, and everything it does.

Stakes it does not control
9.0%
¥5.2 tn of assets earning ¥468 B
Everything it does
1.8%
¥18.9 tn of assets earning ¥333 B
Share of the assets
21.6%
The equity-method book, of ¥24.2 tn
Share of the profit
58.5%
From that fifth of the balance sheet

A fifth of the assets produces nearly three fifths of the profit. Put the other way round: the ¥18.9 tn Mitsubishi consolidates — the subsidiaries, the inventory, the plant, the ships, the mines it operates — earned 1.8% last year.

This is a comparison, not a ratio either half would report, and it is not like-for-like. Equity-method income arrives already net of the affiliate’s own tax and financing, while the consolidated remainder carries the whole group’s overheads, interest and tax and is struck after non-controlling interests. The gap is far too wide to be explained by that — but it is not 9.0% against 1.8% on identical terms.

What the book is made of

The equity-method book stood at ¥5.2 tn at March 31, 2026, against ¥5.1 tn a year earlier. Of that, the holdings carrying a published book value come to ¥1.2 tn — 23.8%. The remaining ¥4.0 tn, which is 76.2% of the book, is not attributed to any named company anywhere in the filing.

The equity-method book, as far as disclosure reaches ¥5.2 tn carrying value · March 31, 2026
Three holdings carry a published book value. Everything else in the book is disclosed only in aggregate — including the three listed associates, for which Mitsubishi names the company and the percentage but not what it is carried at. Source: Annual Financial Report 2026, note 39 and the specific-investments disclosure.
Every equity-method holding the filing names · March 31, 2026
Holding Stake Basis Segment Carrying value Listed
Quellaveco 40.0% Associate Mineral Resources ¥523.5 B * Peru
Lawson 50.0% Joint venture Smart-Life Creation ¥502.6 B Japan
Anglo American Sur 20.4% Associate Mineral Resources ¥216.5 B Chile
Mitsubishi HC Capital TSE:8593 18.4% Associate Others not disclosed Japan · yes
Mitsubishi Motors TSE:7211 22.3% Associate Mobility not disclosed Japan · yes
Olam Group SGX:VC2 14.7% Associate Food Industry not disclosed Singapore · yes
MI Berau 56.0% Joint venture Environmental Energy not disclosed Indonesia
Sulawesi LNG 75.0% Joint venture Environmental Energy not disclosed Indonesia
DRI-GP2 51.0% Joint venture Urban Development & Infrastructure not disclosed Vietnam
Named, total — — — ¥1,242.6 B 23.8% of the book
Not attributed to any named company — — — ¥3,970.4 B 76.2% of the book

* Quellaveco’s figure is the investment book value and the loan to it, which Mitsubishi reports as one number and does not split. It is therefore not a pure carrying amount, and the named total above inherits that.

Two of the three with a published figure are copper mines and the third is a convenience-store chain. None of them is listed. Lawson was, until KDDI took it private alongside Mitsubishi in 2024, and it is now carried at ¥502.6 B — the single largest named holding after Quellaveco.

The listed ones, and the thing everybody assumes

The reason to care about which equity-method holdings are listed is a sum-of-the-parts argument: equity-method stakes are carried at cost plus the share of retained earnings less impairment, never marked to market, so a listed stake that has run up should be worth more than the balance sheet says. That is the argument this site makes about Berkshire’s own equity portfolio. Here it does not survive contact with the filing.

The three listed associates · market value at March 31, 2026
Associate Stake Market capitalisation Mitsubishi’s share, at market Carried at
Mitsubishi HC Capital TSE:8593 18.4% ¥2,012 B ¥370.1 B not disclosed
Mitsubishi Motors TSE:7211 22.3% ¥411 B ¥91.6 B not disclosed
Olam Group SGX:VC2 14.7% S$3.3 bn ¥59.8 B † not disclosed
All three, at market — — ¥521.5 B 10.0% of the book

† Olam trades in Singapore dollars. Translated at 124.0 SGD/JPY on March 31, 2026, which is an approximate rate and the only place on this page a second currency is converted.

Three things follow. The listed associates are 10.0% of the equity-method book at market, so even a large mispricing in them would barely move the group. Mitsubishi does not publish what any of them is carried at, so the gap cannot be computed from the outside. And in the one year the question was forced into the open, the gap ran the wrong way.

In the year to March 31, 2026 Mitsubishi impaired Mitsubishi Motors by ¥35.7 B, and gave this reason. The carrying amount had "continuously exceeded its market value based on quoted share prices". Mitsubishi treated the holding as a single cash-generating unit and measured the recoverable amount on value in use — a discounted cash flow — rather than on the quoted price.

Read that twice, because it is the opposite of what a sum-of-the-parts reader expects. The listed stake was carried above what the market would pay for it, not below. And the impairment did not mark it to the quoted price: the recoverable amount was a discounted cash flow, which is management’s view of the business rather than the market’s. At 22.3% of a company worth ¥411 B, Mitsubishi’s stake is ¥91.6 B at market — and the balance sheet still does not say whether it carries it for more.

Where the writedowns have actually been

The equity-method line is where this company’s capital-allocation record is written, because an investment that disappoints shows up there rather than in the operating result. The clearest case is Anglo American Sur.

Mitsubishi bought 20.4% of the Chilean copper assets for $4.51 billion. At March 31, 2026 it carries them at ¥216.5 B — which the filing itself translates as $1.353 billion, or 30% of what was paid. And that is after writing ¥53.2 B back up last year on higher copper price forecasts.

Cost and carrying value are compared in dollars on purpose. The purchase was made when the yen was near 80 to the dollar and the carrying amount is a 2026 yen figure; converting the cost at today’s 158.7 would charge the investment with fifteen years of currency it never experienced and make the writedown look half again worse than it was.

Against that, the two largest assets in the whole group are not in this book at all. BMA steelmaking coal is a 50% joint operation with BHP, which means Mitsubishi books its share of the assets and liabilities line by line rather than as one investment. It is held through a wholly owned subsidiary, Mitsubishi Development Pty Ltd, which carries ¥1.2 tn of property, plant and equipment, acquired in 2001 for about ¥100 B. The Montney shale gas business moved the same way on October 1, 2025, when a revised agreement with Ovintiv ended the equity method and turned it into a joint operation — a reminder that the boundary between these categories moves, and that a change in it is not a change in the business.

Joint ventures against associates

The one structural cut Mitsubishi does publish is between joint ventures, where control is shared, and associates, where it has influence but not control. Associates are the larger half and the more stable one: ¥328 B against ¥140 B in the latest year, 70.2% of the total.

Equity-method profit, split · ¥ billions · fiscal years ended 31 March
Year ended Joint ventures Associates Total Associates’ share
31 Mar 2024 134.2 310.2 444.4 69.8%
31 Mar 2025 75.5 262.0 337.5 77.6%
31 Mar 2026 139.7 328.3 467.9 70.2%

The joint-venture half is where the volatility lives, and the filing says why: an ¥8.1 billion impairment on a Japanese power-plant joint venture in the year to March 2024, then ¥51.3 billion written off the Japanese offshore wind joint ventures in the year to March 2025 on inflation, a weaker yen, supply chains and rates. Both landed in Power Solution, which is the segment that swung from a ¥15.6 B loss to a ¥43.4 B profit in the table further down this page. The segment result and the equity-method line are the same story told twice.

Where the profit comes from, and where the capital sits

These are not the same place, and the distance between them is the most useful single view of the company. The chart below puts each segment’s share of the group’s profit next to its share of the group’s balance sheet. A line sloping down is a segment earning more than its size; a line sloping up is a segment being carried.

Share of profit against share of assets Operating segments · year ended March 31, 2026
Shares are struck against the operating total, excluding the adjustments-and-eliminations row — that row carries a negative asset balance of ¥2.3 tn, and putting a negative figure in a denominator produces shares that sum to more than everything. Source: Capital IQ segment disclosure; shares computed here. The segment columns sum to the group accounts to the yen.

Environmental Energy is the standout on the right side of that ledger: 20.0% of the profit on 12.6% of the assets, a spread of 7.4 percentage points. At the other end, Others holds ¥3.2 tn — 12.2% of everything Mitsubishi owns — and returns 1.6% on it.

Every segment, against the capital it carries · year ended March 31, 2026
Segment Net income Share of profit Total assets Share of assets Return on segment assets Spread, pp
Environmental Energy ¥160.9 B 20.0% ¥3.3 tn 12.6% 4.8% 7.4
Urban Development & Infrastructure ¥85.1 B 10.6% ¥2.2 tn 8.2% 3.9% 2.4
Food Industry ¥83.3 B 10.4% ¥2.3 tn 8.8% 3.6% 1.5
Mineral Resources ¥204.5 B 25.4% ¥6.0 tn 22.6% 3.4% 2.8
Smart-Life Creation ¥91.0 B 11.3% ¥2.7 tn 10.4% 3.3% 1.0
Mobility ¥57.6 B 7.2% ¥1.9 tn 7.3% 3.0% (0.2)
Others ¥51.8 B 6.4% ¥3.2 tn 12.2% 1.6% (5.8)
Power Solution ¥43.4 B 5.4% ¥2.7 tn 10.3% 1.6% (4.9)
Materials Solution ¥26.3 B 3.3% ¥2.0 tn 7.4% 1.3% (4.2)
Adjustments and Eliminations (¥3.5 B) — ¥-2.3 tn — — —
Group ¥800.5 B 100.0% ¥24.2 tn 100.0% 3.3% —
Return on segment assets, ranked Net income over segment total assets · year ended March 31, 2026
The group figure is 3.3%. Four segments sit below it, and between them they hold ¥9.9 tn of the ¥24.2 tn balance sheet. Source: Capital IQ segment disclosure; ratios computed here.

This is the asset-efficiency problem Corporate Strategy 2027 is written about, in the company’s own numbers. It is also why the return-on-equity discussion that follows is better read as a question about mix than as a question about effort: there is no plausible path from 8.5% to 12% that leaves ¥7.9 tn of capital earning under two per cent.

The group it does not control

This is the most common error in English-language coverage of the house, and it is worth settling before going any further. Mitsubishi Corporation does not own or control Mitsubishi UFJ, and it does not own or control Mitsubishi Heavy Industries. The three are peers. They are the gosanke — the three great houses — and the Mitsubishi group that contains them has no controlling parent at all. The group’s own site is explicit that the post-war entities are “the independent companies they are today”.

What holds them together is a name, a set of cross-shareholdings that are substantial without being controlling, and a lunch. Around thirty of the group companies send their most senior executives to the Friday Conference, the Kinyokai, which has been formally a social function since 1993. The three core houses meet separately beforehand. None of this is a control relationship and none of it consolidates: when you buy 8058 you are buying one trading company, not a share of the Mitsubishi group.

The role the company plays in Japan is better described through the balance sheet than through the group. A country with almost no domestic energy or mineral resources needs someone to own the upstream, carry the inventory, finance the importers and guarantee that the coking coal arrives. Mitsubishi has done that for seventy years, and the fact that it is the largest of five companies doing it is a reasonable measure of how much of Japan’s industrial supply chain sits on these five balance sheets rather than on the manufacturers’.

Ten years of assets, equity and earnings

Net income peaked at ¥1,181 B in the year to March 2023 and has fallen in each of the three years since, to ¥800 B. Shareholders’ equity went the other way, from ¥8,066 B to ¥9,441 B. Falling earnings on a rising equity base is an arithmetic guarantee of a falling return on equity, and that is what happened: 15.8% to 8.5%.

The record · fiscal years ended 31 March · ¥ billions except per-share figures
Year ended Total assets Equity Net income Equity-method share Book value per share Shares, m Return on equity Price to book
31 Mar 2017 ¥15.8 tn ¥4,917 B ¥440 B 26.7% ¥1,034 4,756 9.3% 0.8×
31 Mar 2018 ¥16.0 tn ¥5,332 B ¥560 B 37.7% ¥1,121 4,758 10.9% 0.9×
31 Mar 2019 ¥16.5 tn ¥5,696 B ¥591 B 23.2% ¥1,196 4,761 10.7% 0.9×
31 Mar 2020 ¥18.0 tn ¥5,227 B ¥535 B 33.5% ¥1,174 4,453 9.8% 0.7×
31 Mar 2021 ¥18.6 tn ¥5,614 B ¥173 B 56.3% ¥1,268 4,428 3.2% 0.8×
31 Mar 2022 ¥21.9 tn ¥6,880 B ¥938 B 42.0% ¥1,553 4,430 15.0% 1.0×
31 Mar 2023 ¥22.1 tn ¥8,066 B ¥1,181 B 42.4% ¥1,882 4,286 15.8% 0.8×
31 Mar 2024 ¥23.5 tn ¥9,044 B ¥964 B 46.1% ¥2,207 4,098 11.3% 1.6×
31 Mar 2025 ¥21.5 tn ¥9,369 B ¥951 B 35.5% ¥2,355 3,978 10.3% 1.1×
31 Mar 2026 ¥24.2 tn ¥9,441 B ¥800 B 58.5% ¥2,578 3,661 8.5% 2.1×

None of which is what the shares did. Over the window the hub’s return decomposition runs over — 31 March 2021 to 31 March 2026 — the price went from ¥1,043 to ¥5,315, a 5.1× multiple, for a yen total return of 447% with dividends. Earnings fell and the shares multiplied, and the reconciliation is the multiple: 0.8× book then against 2.1× now. That is the thing to hold in mind reading the rest of this page — the re-rating did more work than the business did.

Book value per share is the figure that behaves best in that table, and the reason is the share count. Equity compounded at 7.5% a year over the decade, but book value per share compounded at 10.7%, because the count fell 23.0% — from 4,756 million shares to 3,661 million. Mitsubishi has spent ¥2.1 tn on repurchases in the last five years, more than any of the other four houses, and it retired 17.3% of its shares doing it.

Return on equity, and the target On average common equity · fiscal years ended 31 March
Struck on average common equity, which is the basis Mitsubishi uses itself. The 12% reference is the Corporate Strategy 2027 target for the year ending 31 March 2028. The company cleared it twice in the decade, in the two years after the resource rebound. Source: Capital IQ; cross-checked against Mitsubishi’s own reported 8.5% for the latest year.

The target, decomposed

A return on equity is a return on assets multiplied by how many times the equity has been levered into those assets, and for the year to March 31, 2026 the identity closes exactly:

Return on equity
8.5%
On average common equity of ¥9.4 tn
Return on assets
3.5%
On average total assets of ¥22.8 tn
Leverage
2.4×
Average assets over average equity
The gap to target
3.5 pp
8.5% against 12%

Written that way there are only two levers, and both can be priced.

Earn more on the same balance sheet. At today’s leverage, 12% on equity needs 4.9% on assets rather than 3.5% — which is ¥1,129 B of net income on today’s equity base. Mitsubishi has earned that much once in the decade, ¥1,181 B in the year to March 2023, at the top of the resource cycle. It is not an impossible number. It is a cyclical peak being asked to become a run rate.

Or carry today’s earnings on less equity. At today’s return on assets, 12% needs leverage of 3.4× rather than 2.4× — average equity of ¥6.7 tn instead of ¥9.4 tn, a reduction of ¥2.7 tn. Corporate Strategy 2027 commits ¥1.0 tn or more to buybacks over three years, which covers about 37% of that, and the plan’s own net debt-to-equity ceiling of about 0.6× limits how much further the second lever can be pushed.

So the honest reading of the 12% target is that it needs both levers, and most of the work has to come from the earnings side — which takes you straight back to the ¥7.9 tn of capital in the three worst segments. Buying back stock raises return on equity arithmetically. It does not make an asset earn more.

Ten years of segments

The chapter above reads the segments over the three years they are directly comparable. This one goes back ten, which means crossing two re-cuts — and what the crossing shows is that the largest of the five is also one of the hardest to follow through time.

Mitsubishi has re-cut its reporting segments twice since 2017, at 2019 and 2023. Matching segment names across a break like that splices two definitions together and calls the result a trend, so the eras are kept apart here and each figure says which basis it is on.

3 reporting bases · 2017–2026
Years Segments The basis
2017–2018 9 Nine segments, on the old product lines. The basis before the 2019 reorganisation, with Metals, Machinery and Living Essentials as the big three. None of those three names exists today.
2019–2022 12 Twelve segments. The reorganisation that replaced Metals with Mineral Resources, split energy into Environmental Energy and Petroleum & Chemicals Solution, and broke Living Essentials into Food Industry and Smart-Life Creation.
2023–2026 10 Ten segments, the current basis. Twelve became ten: Automotive & Mobility and Industrial Infrastructure merged into Mobility, Petroleum & Chemicals folded into Materials Solution, and Urban Development took Infrastructure with it.

No operating segment keeps its name across the ten years. The only lines that run throughout are the residual ones — the corporate and elimination rows that exist to make the others add up. An outside reader cannot watch a single Mitsubishi business compound over the decade, because the company stopped reporting it as one business more than once.

What the balance sheet holds now

The current basis, ranked by the assets each line carries against what it earns on them. 3 of the 8 earn less on their own assets than the group earns on all of its.

Operating segments · year ended 31 March 2026 · ¥ billions
Segment Assets Share Profit Return on assets
Mineral Resources 5,995 25.8% 204.5 3.4%
Environmental Energy 3,339 14.4% 160.9 4.8%
Smart-Life Creation 2,745 11.8% 91.0 3.3%
Power Solution 2,740 11.8% 43.4 1.6%
Food Industry 2,334 10.0% 83.3 3.6%
Urban Dev. & Infrastructure 2,174 9.4% 85.1 3.9%
Materials Solution 1,971 8.5% 26.3 1.3%
Mobility 1,943 8.4% 57.6 3.0%

Over the ten years total assets grew 53.3% and equity 92.0%, against profit 81.8%. Those three are continuous whatever the segments did, which is why the group figures carry the long view on this page and the segment tables carry the detail.

The segments, over the three years they are comparable

Three years and not ten, and that is a real limit rather than an omission: Midterm Corporate Strategy 2024 redrew the reporting segments, so the earlier years are reported on a map that does not splice onto this one. Nobody publishes a ten-year segment panel for this company on a single basis, and a page that showed one would be joining two different sets of definitions.

Segment net income · ¥ billions · fiscal years ended 31 March
Segment 2024 2025 2026 Change
Mineral Resources 295.5 227.8 204.5 (91.0)
Environmental Energy 238.8 198.6 160.9 (77.9)
Smart-Life Creation 102.7 185.0 91.0 (11.7)
Urban Development & Infrastructure 50.9 39.8 85.1 34.2
Food Industry (25.3) 92.4 83.3 108.6
Mobility 141.4 112.4 57.6 (83.8)
Power Solution 97.9 (15.6) 43.4 (54.5)
Materials Solution 73.9 68.3 26.3 (47.5)
Others (2.2) 51.2 51.8 54.0
Adjustments and Eliminations (9.6) (9.2) (3.5) 6.1
Group 964.0 950.7 800.5 (163.6)

Two segments change sign inside those three years. Food Industry lost ¥25.3 B in the year to March 2024 and earned ¥83.3 B two years later. Power Solution lost ¥15.6 B in the middle year and earned ¥43.4 B in the latest. Any ratio struck on a segment in a year it lost money is not a measurement, which is why the return columns above are shown for the latest year only.

Lawson, and why one segment appears to have collapsed

Smart-Life Creation’s gross profit fell from ¥806 B to ¥233 B across these three years — a fall of ¥573 B, more than two thirds — and its assets fell ¥1.9 tn. Read without context that is a business failing. It is not. It is an accounting boundary moving.

Lawson was a consolidated subsidiary at 50.1% until a KDDI tender offer in August 2024 took each party to exactly 50%. Neither controls it at that split, so it left the consolidation and became an equity-method affiliate. Its revenue and its assets came out of the segment; Mitsubishi’s half of its profit stayed, as part of one line further down the income statement. The year to March 2024 also carries a ¥122.5bn revaluation gain on the reclassification, which flatters that year and depresses the next year’s comparison against it.

The group balance sheet shows the same event: total assets fell ¥2.0 tn in the year to March 2025, from ¥23.5 tn to ¥21.5 tn. And it is part of why the equity-method share of profit has risen — Lawson’s earnings did not leave the company, they moved from the consolidated columns into the single equity-method line. Any growth rate struck across these three years carries that reclassification inside it.

Segment total assets · ¥ billions · fiscal years ended 31 March
Segment 2024 2025 2026 Change
Mineral Resources 4,379 4,538 5,995 1,616
Environmental Energy 2,875 3,247 3,339 464
Smart-Life Creation 4,662 2,587 2,745 (1,917)
Urban Development & Infrastructure 2,093 2,160 2,174 80
Food Industry 2,165 1,952 2,334 169
Mobility 1,976 1,848 1,943 (33)
Power Solution 2,731 2,512 2,740 9
Materials Solution 2,104 2,021 1,971 (132)
Others 3,282 3,153 3,235 (47)
Adjustments and Eliminations (2,808) (2,523) (2,325) 483
Group 23,460 21,496 24,152 692

The other movement worth marking is Mineral Resources, which added ¥1.6 tn of assets over the three years while its net income fell ¥91 B. Capital going into the segment as returns come out of it is the normal shape of a resource business late in a cycle, and it is the largest single reason the group’s return on assets fell.

What management has committed to

Corporate Strategy 2027 was published on April 3, 2025 and runs three fiscal years to 31 March 2028. The headline targets are 12% or better on equity, underlying operating cash flow growth of 10% a year or more, and a net debt-to-equity ratio capped at about 0.6×.

The profit target needs its year stated with it, because the plan does not put it in the same year as the return target. Net income is shown reaching ¥950 B in the year to 31 March 2028 and ¥1.2 tn only from 31 March 2029 onwards, while the 12% return is expected by the earlier of the two. Quoting “¥1.2 tn by 2028” — which is how the target is usually repeated — dates it a year early and makes the company look further along than it is.

Three-year capital allocation · ¥ billions · as published April 3, 2025
Item Three years Note
Underlying operating cash flow ¥3.3 tn or more Cash in
Divestitures ¥1.7 tn or more Cash in
Sustaining capital expenditure ¥1.0 tn or more Cash out
Growth investment ¥3.0 tn or more Cash out
Dividends ¥1.4 tn or more includes ¥200bn paid by subsidiaries to non-controlling shareholders
Share buybacks ¥1.0 tn or more Cash out
The targets, and the years they belong to Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025
Mitsubishi’s quantitative targets. On the left, underlying operating cash flow rising from ¥900 billion in FY24 to ¥1.4 trillion in FY27 and beyond, an average growth rate of 10 per cent or more, built from Enhance, Reshape and Create initiatives of ¥300 billion, ¥50 billion and ¥100 billion. On the right, consolidated net income rising from ¥650 billion in FY24 to ¥950 billion in FY27 and ¥1.2 trillion from FY28, with return on equity expected to exceed 12 per cent by FY27.
Reproduced as published. The bars are the company’s own fiscal-year labels: its FY27 is the year ending 31 March 2028, and its FY28 the year after. Source: Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025, page 11.

What happened to the last plan

A target is worth what the last one turned out to be worth, and Mitsubishi publishes the scorecard. Midterm Corporate Strategy 2024 set a double-digit return on equity and reported a 12.5% three-year average; it set ¥800 B of consolidated net income and reported ¥950 B; it set a 40% payout and returned 62%, or ¥1.9 tn. It also reviewed 160 underperforming or low-growth companies. On its own terms the last plan was met.

How the last plan actually finished Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025
Mitsubishi’s review of Midterm Corporate Strategy 2024. The upper half sets planned investment against forecast across three categories totalling ¥2.5 trillion, with underlying operating cash flow up ¥130 billion and consolidated net income up ¥100 billion. The lower half sets five targets against results: a double-digit return on equity target met with a 12.5 per cent three-year average (15.8, 11.3 and 10.4 per cent); consolidated net income of ¥800 billion targeted against ¥950 billion forecast; a high single-A credit rating maintained at S&P A and Moody’s A2; a 40 per cent payout target met at 62 per cent with ¥1.9 trillion returned; and 160 underperforming or low-growth companies reviewed.
Reproduced as published. The three return figures in the Capital Efficiency column are the same three this page computes from the accounts, under the company’s own year labels. Source: Mitsubishi Corporation, Corporate Strategy 2027, 3 April 2025, page 5.

Two things are worth taking from it. The first is a check on this page: the return figures in that scorecard are the ones computed here from the accounts, year for year, under Mitsubishi’s labels rather than this site’s. The third is the exception and the reason is in the date — the plan was published on April 3, 2025, two days after that year ended and months before it was reported, so the slide carries a forecast where this page carries the filed figure.

The scorecard’s return on equity against this page’s
As the company labels it Year ended 31 March Scorecard This page
FY22 2023 15.8% 15.8%
FY23 2024 11.3% 11.3%
FY24 2025 10.4% (forecast) 10.3%
Three-year average — 12.5% 12.5%

The second is what an average does to a trend. Those three readings do not scatter around 12.5% — they fall, every year, from 15.8% to 10.4%. Each one cleared the target and so did the average, which is why the scorecard can report it met without qualifying anything. But a target set as a floor is silent about direction, and the direction was one way for all three years. The first year on the other side of the plan, the one this page is written on, came in at 8.5% — the first reading in four years that would not have cleared it.

That is the context for reading 12%. It is not a stretch from where the company has been — it cleared 12% in 2 of the ten years in the record, including 15.8% as recently as 2023. It is a stretch from where the company is, and the arithmetic earlier on this page is what that distance costs.

Two things in that table are worth flagging for anyone comparing the five houses on payout. The dividend line includes ¥200 B paid by subsidiaries to their non-controlling shareholders, which is not a payment to Mitsubishi shareholders at all — so a payout ratio struck on this figure is not comparable with one struck on dividends to the parent’s own holders. And the progressive dividend policy has a floor rather than a ratio: ¥110 per share, which against the ¥110 just paid is a commitment not to cut rather than a commitment to grow.

On the plan it replaced, management’s own scorecard is better than the target in every line. Midterm Corporate Strategy 2024 asked for ¥800 B of profit and reported ¥950 B; it committed to a double-digit return on equity and reported 12.5% as a three-year average; it targeted a 40% total payout ratio and delivered 62%, returning ¥1.9 tn. It also completed an asset review of 160 underperforming or low-growth companies.

That last item is the one to watch rather than the targets. A trading house with ¥24.2 tn of assets and ¥7.9 tn of it earning under two per cent does not have a profit problem that a good commodity year fixes. The 2027 plan introduces three-year profit and return-on-invested-capital targets for each operating company, and if those are ever published company by company they will be the most useful disclosure any of the five houses makes.

Conventions

Net income is attributable to owners of the parent. Return on equity is struck on average common equity, which is the basis Mitsubishi uses itself; for the decomposition to close, return on assets is struck on average total assets and leverage is average assets over average equity. That makes the decomposition unavailable for the first year of the series, which has no opening balance sheet, and this page leaves it blank there rather than quietly substituting a closing figure.

Segment shares are struck against the operating total, excluding adjustments and eliminations, because that row carries a negative asset balance and a negative denominator produces shares that sum to more than everything. The row itself is shown rather than netted away, since without it the columns do not tie. Market capitalisation is taken on the last trading day of each fiscal year. Figures are in yen throughout: this company reports in yen, is bought in yen, and a dollar-converted book value per share invites a comparison that does not mean anything.